Ys IX Monstrum Nox Review

Initial Release Date: Japan September 26, 2019; Worldwide (PS4) February 2, 2021; Nintendo Switch Summer 2021; PC Summer 2021

Composer(s): Hayato Sonoda; Takahiro Unisuga; Yukihiro Jindo; Mitsuo Singa

Developers: Nihon Falcom, Engine Software, PH3 GmbH

Publishers: Nihon Falcom, Nippon Ichi Software, NIS America

Platforms: Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 4, Microsoft Windows

Genres: Video game, Role-playing game

"Click Images to Purchase"

Adol The Red. That name alone is the name of a man who has led a life of adventure and wonder that exceeds any adventure that Link of The Legend of Zelda series has ever embarked on as while Link may have the same link across one or two adventures, in the Ys franchise it’s the same Adol in every game just at different points in his life. Ys is a historic franchise that has been a mainstay of Nihon Falcom for as long as The Legend of Zelda has been in existence. While it has never reached the mainstream success of Nintendo’s iconic franchise and has always remained a niche series; it has pushed the action adventure genre far beyond anything else any other title has ever done and with each entry it has continued to do so time and again all the while reinventing itself to not be complacent upon its laurels.

Ys, as a franchise, has always had a very strong story at it’s core centered around its world and the adventures of Adol Christin which is what has lead many to believe that it spurred Nintendo to attempt to make story more central in it’s Zelda series over the decades of which only the last two Zelda games have essentially had voice acting and stronger story narratives which is something Ys has nearly had since its inception well over 30 years ago. With eight previously powerful entries in the franchise, save for Ys V: Lost Kingdom of Kefin (We don’t talk about that one), Y’s is now entering it’s tenth canon entry that will be continuing the story of Adol the Red past his last chronological adventure in Ys SEVEN. Does Ys IX: Monstrum Nox live up to the extremely strong fanfare of the last mainline entry Ys VIII: Lacrimosa of DANA or does it fail to achieve the same greatness and end up a forgotten story in Adol’s legend the same way as Ys V is? Let’s find out!